Equestrians participate in KwaZulu-Natal Tentpegging Championships

Competition in the skill-at-arms category was fierce.

Avid equestrians participated in the annual KwaZulu-Natal Tentpegging Championships on Saturday, August 19.

The prestigious event took place at the Showgrounds, with 48 riders from Memel, Newcastle, Normandien, Vryheid, Durban and Bethlehem competing for coveted positions in the KZN teams.

Junior riders had to prove their skill at various disciplines, including half section lance, Indian file sword, Indian file lance, half section lance, section lance and individual lance.

Senior riders competed in regimes which comprised skill-at-arms, lemon slicing, section lance, individual lance and individual sword.

Despite the miserable weather conditions, the riders and their steeds performed exceptionally well.

The following men were selected for the Senior Men’s Natal Team:

Theo Greggory from Normandien Club

Dirk van Niekerk from Memel’s Witkoppe Club

Roland Collyer from Normandien Club

Tabie la Grange from Witkoppe Club in Memel

Corne Henning, also from Witkoppe Club, Memel.

The Ladies Natal Team will consist of:

Beverly Baksa of Okusha Club, Durban.

Dalene Baksa from Okusha Club, Durban.

Jani Potgieter of Witkoppe Club, Memel.

Cindy Schoeman from Okusha Club, Durban.

Lee-Ann Fourie of Normandien Club.

The Junior Under 18 A Team will be:

Bianca Louw of Majuba Club, Newcastle.

Tayla Steyn of Okusha Club, Durban.

Joshua MacDougal of Majuba Club, Newcastle.

Benjamin Burton from Okusha Club, Durban.

Tagan Martiz from Majuba Club, Newcastle.

The Junior Under 14 Team will be:

Leo Reim of Okusha Club, Durban.

Chloe Redman, also of Okusha Club, Durban.

Tyler Moster from Majuba Club, Newcastle.

Rachel Sharp from Okusha Club, Durban.

Khosi Dlomo from Okusha Club, Durban.

Congratulations to all the riders on their achievements.


Quinton Boucher

Latest News


Next Story x
NOTICE: Association for the Physically Challenged AGM