St Doms sports the best

The year's top sportsman is Gustav Boshoff.

PARADISE – The St Dominic’s Academy Newcastle hosted its high school prizegiving recently.

This event was well attended by parents and pupils, and a pleasant evening was had by all.

Congratulations to the recipients of the major trophies:

SDAN Trophy for Team of the Year – First Boys Hockey

St Dominic’s Newcastle Trophy for Champion House – Raphaels

Marillier Trophy for the Most Committed House – Raphaels

Dedekind Award for Sporting Achievement outside the School Curriculum – Cassidy Steenkamp

Aqeelah Kader Trophy for Most Committed Senior Girl – Sheryl-Anne Grobler

Abed Kader Trophy for Most Committed Senior Boy – Brett Braithwaite

St Dominic’s Newcastle Trophy for Sportswoman of the Year – Sheryl-Anne Grobler

St Dominic’s Newcastle Trophy for Sportsman of the Year – Gustav Boshoff.

Congratulations also to the 2017 Sport and House Captains:

Chess – Peggy Hsu

Boys’ Hockey – Seth Wade

Girl’s Hockey – Jamie Steenkamp

Netball – Anele Shabangu

Outdoor Pursuits – Peggy Hsu

Boys’ Soccer – Methembe Nkosi

Swimming – LJ van Staden

Tennis – Anele Shabangu

House Captains are Ntokozo Vilakazi for Michaels, Harish Singh and Nomathamsanqa Mnisi for Raphaels and Keegan Rajah and Anele Shabangu for Roses.

Bruce Douglas

Latest News


Next Story x
LETTER: Let’s meet in the New Year; avoid being another statistic for Christmas